April 15, 2015 – Launch Date

I’m nervous, excited, terrified, and exhilarated to announce that my comic, State of Employment, will launch here on April 15, 2015!

Why April 15?  Because it’s the end of March, I’m not quite ready for a deadline of the 1st, but I know I’ll never succeed unless I have a deadline standing just over my shoulder with a weapon, clearing its throat ever louder as we near the date.  And lastly, it’s tax day, right?  So it’s another arbitrary date selected by the government to get sh*t accomplished and either build anticipation over a check arriving, break even, or cry into your bourbon as you solemnly write out that check to Uncle Sam.

So mark your calendars or set a reminder to check back on Wednesday, April 15, 2015.

It is my plan to post 2 new comics per week, on Tuesday and Thursday.  I am beginning with my time spent as an extremely low paid clerk in the clinic within a state prison even though that was not my first experience as a state employee.  Because I have been working for the state for nearly 10 years, there is plenty of material to keep this going.

***MAJOR DISCLAIMER***  I AM NOT AN ARTIST!  I don’t pretend to be one nor do I play one on TV.  I actually think of myself as a writer but when trying to write about my experiences with state employment, I could never get it to come out the way I wanted it to.  It was either too bitter, too resentful, too angry, or a lot of other “too” feelings the various times I have tried.  One day, I just doodled a little cartoon during a meeting, my coworker sitting beside me laughed and said I should draw more, and bam!  The solution to my problem.  So the drawings and “artwork” are crude.  You can probably draw better than I do.  But this is the best way to represent some of my experiences with state employment, just don’t expect Picasso or Rembrandt.

Comments are welcome but be nice to one another.  If I think you’re being nasty or rude, I WILL delete your comments.  You are forewarned.  And I don’t want to hear any whining about free speech.  Start your own blog if you want to be nasty and rude.  If I’m paying the bills around here, it’s my speech that’s “free,” not yours.  Don’t like it?  Piss off.

You may have also noticed that I have a vulgar streak.  Yes, I know that cursing is not necessary.  I’m vulgar, not stupid.  Don’t like it?  Piss off.

Ok, we’ll get this party started on April 15th and I hope you enjoy!

 

2 thoughts on “April 15, 2015 – Launch Date

Leave a Reply

